A learning vacation,Part 1


We just returned from a trip to New York City to visit my mother -in-law and family and friends. It was a busy week, but fun.

NYC is a fascinating place The energy there us amazing.  Tiring, but amazing.  A big difference than when we were there in December when i could barely walk  after my last fall

We were taking to a classical music concert on a barge in the East River.  Fun trying to maneuver a rocking barge with a cane.  Luckily, I didn’t fall. St. Pa tricks Cathedral  is undergoing renovation but still amazing, even for this “recovering” catholic. Across the street is Rockefeller Center, home of NBC and the famous Christmas tree.  Right now there is a topiary there that I’m told is supposed to be a dog,  Could have fooled me.:)

We went to my favorite museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  My husband very patiently wheeled me around in a wheelchair as we went to two major exhibits. Charles James was a fashion exhibit that was amazing,, clothes from the 40’s and 50’s. Stunningly breathtaking it showed how the dress was designed.  It gave me a new view of what goes into designing a gown.  Especially some of the long intricate gowns you see in the movies from the 40’s and 50’s/

The other exhibit is Decoding Chinese Calligraphy which was fun.  I love the intricacies of the form and as my husband speaks chinese he was able to add a new dimension to it.  All in all a wonderful afternoon.  Made more soo as our friend Rita was able to join us.

I have never been a big fan of modern art.  Most of it I just don’t get.  But I let my mother in law take us to the Museum of Modern Art.. One floor had paintings by Degas, Van Gogh and Picasso.  I enjoyed those and could have spent hours in the room that had Monet s Water Lillie’s on all four walls. Some of the rest of the art in there went over me, except for Andy Warhol.Pleae Modern art lovers do not come after me, this is just my opinion.

We also went to the Museum of Mathematics.  The look on my face told everyone what ithought of it and surprised to prove I was wrong.  It was a very hands on interactive place that I thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend to math geeks and non geeks alike,

See NYC  part 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

