You’ve been married how long????


29 years ago today my husband and I were married. When the kids my husband work with found out how long we’ve been married the reaction is universally the same. “to the same person?”

Yes to the same person. They act like it’s a rarity and I got to thinking, is it?
I don’t know.
Between my husband and I there are 9 siblings and only two are divorced, Everyone else is married almost as long if not longer than us. His parents were married for 56 years when my father in law died. my dad was married 3 times for 19, 16 and 20 years respectively. The first two wifes died before he did the third one is still living.
Both our grandparents were married until they died. usually 50 plus years,
So is it genetic? I don’t think so. I think it’s just good examples that and in my case anyway, I married my best friend.

I will leave you with what I think is the best definition of a good marriage. it was given to my by my Nana MacCormack, my dad’s mother. She told me that she had been married to my grandfather for over 50 years. There were days he was wishing she was in hell and there were days she was wishing he was in hell. However they were still the best years of her life.
Works for me Nana.

3 thoughts on “You’ve been married how long????

  1. NoraAdrienne says:

    My partner and I will be together 41 years on Aug. 6th.

  2. Jane says:

    Congratulations to both of you. Well done.

Leave a Reply

