I have a little secret


And I’m sure I am not the only one. It’s a habit I’ve had since I was a teenager. Something only another person who indulges can understand.
What is that secret?

I have been known to read the end of a book first.
I can hear the gnashing of teeth now, How can you? You ruin the story that way.Why even bother reading the book then

Hear me out.

I read the last few pages to make sure the story ends the way I want it to end.
Yes in romances I know it will end happily ever after. Most of those are the ones I do not usually read the end first. Unless i am unsure who the heroine will end up with in the end.
Mysteries, I read the end to find out who did it.
It doesn’t ruin the book for me, not at all.
If anything it helps me with my reading. My reading time, like most writers has been cut down. Usually by deadlines.
However i have discovered one thing, The best writers, the ones I come back to time and again are the ones who keep me reading. Even when I know how it ends.

The writing is so good, the characterization , the story draws me in and makes me care, and I keep on reading.

I just hope I can do the same with my own writing…

Leave a Reply

