We have a Pope



pope

 

 

 

 

 

Jorge Mario Bergoglio, 76, is the first pope to use the name Francis, the first Jesuit pope and the first from Latin America. He gives me hope that maybe there will be some changes in the church. Do I think there will be a sudden change in attitude of the church toward same-sex marriage or abortion?  No.

What about women as priests?   Maybe if nothing else he may be willing to listen.  One can hope.

I go a lot on gut feelings about people, whether I know then or not.  I do like the look of Francis.  Watching him I can see some of Pope John Paul and the kindness of Blessed John XXIII . I cried when I watched him asked for the blessing of everyone in the square.  He is humble, he cares about the poor and the sick and after everything the church has gone through, he gives me hope.  Which is saying something considering I call myself a “recovering catholic”. Time will tell.

2 thoughts on “We have a Pope

  1. noraadrienne says:

    Actually, he’s a first generation South American… Under the hood, his parents emigrated from Italy.

Leave a Reply

