New Year Resolutions-bah humbug!


Someone asked me if I was making any New Year resolutions. Hell No! I gave up on those a long time ago. I had all the usual, lose weight, exercise more, learn more, read more. The last two were the only ones I could keep. One year I resolved to be nicer to my brothers. Needless to say that one didn’t last. I think I was 13 or 14 then. Now at 58 it’s a little bit easier to keep…a little bit. 🙂

Usually I make goals. One of my goals last year was to self publish more books. While I haven’t gotten everything published that I want to, I’ve made a good dent in it. Enough to be proud of myself. I’m formatting others and hope to get some up soon. 

Last year I lost my Dad, then earlier this year, my father-in-law. This was this first holiday without them both and I miss them. However where as the end of last year was sad, this year is ending on an upswing. A few days ago my sister in law, who is more like a sister we are only a year apart, underwent a double lung transplant.  Granted she is only 3 days post op but my brother called tonight and she is doing well.

So I give thanks to the powers that be that she is well. And will continue my life with no resolutions. Instead I will have goals.

I have three books I have to finish and want to get out this year. One is a paranormal romance, the other two are cozies. My goal is to have at least two finished and one published before we go on vacation in June. We have planned a family trip to England  and you know that will bring more stories.

 

 

0

4 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions-bah humbug!

  1. Jane says:

    I make resolutions. Often I don’t keep them, but oh well. This year is to finish my cozy and to get through the push up track of the body attack excercize class with out doing the easy option. I don’t really see the difference between a resolution and a goal. Oh here’s another perennial- cultivate patience with family members. I am resolved I try to do these things. Janieoh

  2. Patience with family members is something I work on constantly. As for resolutions or goals. Not meeting a goal isn’t as bad as not meeting a resolution. AT least that’s how I see it..

  3. Great goals, Elaine! I look forward to more of your books.

Leave a Reply

