Enough already with the Black Friday


Now I like a bargain as much as the next girl. One of my first jobs after I got out of high school was working in Filenes Basement. The original one in Boston. Only die-hard bargain shoppers went into Filenes on a sale day.

It was where my mother taught me how to shop for a true bargain. It was her way to unwind after a hard day with the five of us “angels”. Yes that was a heavy note of sarcasm there.

However I think even she would have been taken aback by this.   Wal-Mart had their black Friday ad posted on-line already. I don’t think you can order anything listed there at their low price, not yet. However like,walking into a store in October and seeing Christmas decorations next to Jack O lanterns, it just hits a nerve.

I’m not being a grouch, far from it. my Christmas decorations  go up the day after  Thanksgiving and I don’t take them down until January, However no matter how I try the majority of my presents shopping isn’t done until after Thanksgiving.

Call me old-fashioned but I like it that way.

 

Leave a Reply

