Thoughts on a September afternoon…


Just sitting here on a Labor day afternoon thinking….

Labor day means many things to many people. It is a day to celebrate the working man and woman. It is also the last beach day, the last barbecue, the last day at the pool.

It also means the end of summer, time to prepare to bundle up and nest for the cold weather. Yes it gets cold in Arizona. While not as cold as say New England or Minnesota. However I have not lived on the east coast for almost 10 years now. Long enough to make my already thin blood even thinner. However I can start making stew and chili and lots of other things I don’t usually make in the warm weather.

It also means, for me the start of what I call Birthday Season. For some reason a good chunk of our family were born in the last quarter for the year. my husband and I included in that mash. We have 3 birthdays in September, 4 in October, 2 in November, 3 in December and 2 in January. In  between are my three favorite holidays, Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. All bound to take the sting our of winter, or at least help it.

I hope you all enjoyed your three-day weekend.  Do you like the fall? The winter? What is your favorite thing about it?

Leave a Reply

