What’s for dinner?


I love to cook.  It’s only since health issues forced me to quit what i referred to as my “rent paying gig” that I’ve been able to indulge in trying new and different things. I had tried in growing up. I cooked for my dad and my brothers for a while. They did not always appreciate my artistry. J  Luckily, even after all these years, my husband does. Doesn’t mean I don’t get nervous.

Husband and I are trying to eat healthier these days. Having both our fathers pass in six months reminded us all to well of our own mortality.

We both like Tofu but I was tired of just making Tofu stir fry. What to do.

I perused my recipes and came up with a few ideas.  There was a recipe on cook channel I took that and used it as a starting point.  I had Tofu, I had spices, not necessarily the ones on the recipe, but spices anyway. Some of them hot.

I drained the tofu and shake at least 6 different spices on it front and back, maybe more. I just took what looked good to me. I rubbed it in and left it to sit for a while as I watched Dr OZ.

After my daily dose of the good doctor, I went back to the kitchen. Tofu tends to take on flavors of things it is cooked with so what to have for a starch. I was tired of the same old and wanted a change. I opened the cabinet and the first thing I saw, corn meal. Perfect I hadn’t made Polenta for a while. While I stirred the polenta, I heated the pan to sauté the tofu slices.

I cooked the tofu slices, orange tinged from the tumeric. One at a time. Then I took the polenta and put a few spoonfuls on the pan. I figured, I can do it with Mashed potatoes, why not with Polenta?

I cooked just enough for the two of us, storing the remaining polenta to use later in the week. Plated them with the tofu and sprinkled extra cheese on it. I am one of those people who thinks almost any meal is enhanced by cheese. My husband took a bite, then another, then he said, “I really like this!”  Another keeper.

I love it when things go the way I want them to go.

One thought on “What’s for dinner?

  1. Jane says:

    I agree about the cheese.

Leave a Reply

