Characters….


I’ve been sitting here watching the 25th Anniversary of  The Phantom of the Opera. I’ve seen it at least 3 times during this current bout of PBS fundraising and each time I am amazed and moved to tears. But those who know me will tell you that doesn’t take much.

It did get me thinking a bout how much of what I watch and what I read growing up has affected what I write.   I grew up reading about the men and women who made this country great.  Then I discovered other places, other people all through books.and movies.

Growing up with all those brothers I was usually low man on the totem pole when it came to what to watch on TV. As a result we watched a lot of shows like Combat and probably every cop show on TV. Is it any wonder I write about dead bodies.

I am a visual person and I use pictures to help me with physical descriptions of characters and place. A lot of times I use characters from some of my favorite movies and tv show.

No matter what I write, a romantic suspense about a cop with trust issues. A paranormal about twins, one good one evil or  about a mortician who can talk to dead people. There is also one thing common in all of them. Love and Family and isn’t that really what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

