Christmas Traditions


Christmas day is one of my favorite days. Family,friends, presents, and food! What more can you ask for? I love cooking for the holidays. I remember my dad always cooking tons of food and everyone in and out of our house all day. Grandparents, Uncles, Aunts, cousins and friends, everyone was welcome and no one left hungry. This was something I tried to continue when I moved away from home.

I now live on the other side of the country my Christmas is still filled with traditions, ones we have created ourselves over the years. This is the first Christmas I did not at least talk to my Dad, he passed away in November, and I missed him.

I live in an apartment complex and several of us meet twice a week for coffee. We sit in the club house have coffee,someone brings donuts, or cake or something to eat as we talk. This year several of us had no family near by so we got together in the club house and had our own Christmas dinner.

Everyone bought one dish,usually something they make every year. One person did the ham, we had two different types of mashed potatoes, veggies, candied yams, corn bread, cranberry sauce and a wonderful red velvet cake with an incredibly rich fondant covering. My contribution was the corn bread and cranberry sauce. I love homemade cranberry sauce. We sat around sharing our food and our ­memories and just enjoying ourselves. As we cleaned up it was decided to do this again next year.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions

  1. tempewytch says:

    It sounds as though you have a nice group to get together with there Elaine

Leave a Reply

