Guest Post – Chris Redding – Staying Motivated


I’d like to welcome my first guest blogger, Chris Redding. Chris and I have known each other for a long time and she is one of the most motivated authors I know. I’ve asked her to talk about that very subject. First a little information about Chris

Chris Redding lives in New Jersey with her husband, two kids, one dog and three rabbits. She graduated from Penn State with a degree in journalism. When she isn’t writing, she works part time at her local hospital.

Staying Motivated

I wrote my first book in high school. Instead of paying attention in class I was writing. My grades that quarter reflected it. Thankfully my great American tome was thrown away years ago.

It sucked.

Now I have 6 books published. You’d think it would all be easy.

It isn’t. The hardest part sometimes is staying motivated. How do I do it?

Deadlines are a good way. Some external, some internal. If you submit a partial to an agent and that agent will get back to you in a month, that gives you a good reason to finish editing that full manuscript just in case.

A think of a conference as a deadline. Probably shouldn’t because it is hard to snag an agent at a conference. Still, if I have something to pitch at a conference, that makes me happy. So I work hard to have something ready.

Internal deadlines are tougher. You have to have the fortitude to stick with it. Sometimes I don’t.

A critique group or partner can help you with motivation. More than once I’ve had a critique group talk me off the ledge of quitting. Having others around you who understand what you are going through is priceless.

Going to a conference also helps keep me motivated. I always learn something new or some new way to look at a problem. It’s energizing. I always wish I could write for the whole day after the conference.

How do you stay motivated, no matter what the task is?

Buy Links for Blonde Demolition:

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/7olwvhs

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/104247

Other books by Chris Redding:

Corpse Whisperer

The Drinking Game

Confessions: Volume One

Incendiary

A View to a Kilt

Where you can find me:

www.chrisreddingauthor.com

http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com

www.twitter.com/chrisredding

www.facebook.com/chrisredding

Thanks for having me today.

cmr

2 thoughts on “Guest Post – Chris Redding – Staying Motivated

  1. Thanks for having me today Elaine.
    cmr

Leave a Reply

