Chicken Soup


The cold weather is one of my favorites cooking times. There is nothing like coming out of the cold and into a house filled with the aroma of chili, beef stew or my favorite chicken soup.  Everyone has his or her own chicken soup recipe and I’d like to share mine with you. It’s the first thing my husband asks for when he’s getting a cold.  You do know that chicken soup is also called Jewish Penicillin?  While I am Scots/Irish my husband is Jewish and after 25+ years of marriage I think that counts.  I’d like to share it with you.  It’s easy to make. It also freezes well.   –Enjoy!

Chicken and Sausage Soup

I LB of chicken cut in small pieces. Can also use one of those ready cooked chickens from the supermarket shredded to pieces.

2 carrots chopped or half bag of frozen carrots

1 onion chopped or half bag frozen chopped onions

Red and green bell peppers chopped, or 1/2 bag frozen peppers

1 cup rice  – Can also use barley or orzo

1 pkg. smoked sausage (I usually use turkey sausage)

Salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper, garlic powder, parsley

Cut the sausage in pieces and boil.  Drain and cool

Using a Dutch oven or stock pan, add 2 tsp canola oil place on medium high add chicken and brown.

  Add veggies and cook until onions are translucent.

 Add rice and seasonings plus 4 cups of water or chicken broth, bring to a boil  

Reduce heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes.  Add sausage to mixture and simmer another 5-10 minutes.

 Serve with garlic bread or my favorite corn bread.

 

Leave a Reply

