Life is not easy…


And on this day ten years ago we all found that out, some of us more than others.
Ten years ago I lived in New Jersey. My husband watched horrified from a park in New Jersey as the towers he had watched being built as a child, fell into ruins. His parents apartment looks out on the Brooklyn Bridge and the Statue of Liberty.   We drove to Kennedy Airport to pick up my in-laws who were on one of the first flights allowed back. They had been in Europe at a science conference.
What I remember most that day was two things. One, the first sight I had of the towers still burning is forever in my brain and two, after we picked my in-laws up and were back at their apartment.
Without saying a word, the four of us went directly to the living room window to see the hole in the sky where the towers used to be.
No We lost no one that day. My heart goes out to those who did, even now ten years later. I do know that my husband’s friend who made it out of Tower One, has never been the same.
Nor will it ever be the same, for any of us.
However I like a quote from one of my favorite old actors Danny Kaye It’s a fantastic piece of advice.
Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can.  ~Danny Kaye
Happy Painting!

4 thoughts on “Life is not easy…

  1. Great quote. “Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can. ~Danny Kaye” Hi from a fellow campaigner in the same Adult all genres group. Finally getting around to posting on all the blogs in the same groups. Like the title of your blog.

  2. Thanks Joelle! I love great quotes and have recently started collecting them. Love your blog, I replied with my five reasons. Have to agree with you on the chocolate!

  3. Allie says:

    That’s a really apt quote. It reminds you that you have to live each day as if it’s the last. What happened that day was shocking to the world, must have been even more so to have been there.

Leave a Reply

