Yankee Doodle Dandy


I know I said Wednesday that I would talk about books. However I watched one of my favorite classic old movies. I grew up watching these movies with my mother and continued watching them after she passed in 1972. However movies = entertainment, books =entertainment, so I guess I’m taking about the same thing.

The movie is Yankee Doodle Dandy with James Cagey. For those who are not “of a certain age” for over 40 years he was an actor, a dancer and a star like they only had in the Hollywood system of the 30’s and 40’s.

I have not watched this movie in quite a few years. A friend told me it was televised on the Fourth of July and I dvr’d it. Filmed in 1942,It’s the story of George M. Cohan, another song and dance man who started in Vaudeville in the late 1800’s. It’s full of sentimental; some may even call it sappy patriotism. Considering the time it was filmed that is not a surprise. However I can almost guarantee that you will be humming songs from the movie long after you see it,

If you have not seen this, I would suggest checking Netflix, the library, anyplace on line to find a copy. There is no wild car chases, or special effects seen in most movies today. However it has some of the best actors, a great story and leaves you with that AW feeling. That’s the feeling that you get when you finish a book or watching a movie that you wished would never end.

Leave a Reply

